Skip to main content

Article Filters

Your Basket

Your basket is empty. Continue shopping to add products to your basket.

Call Centre

An Introduction to All 7 Chakra Points

Published date: 18 January 2020

Back to Article Listing examplearticleimage.svg
The basics of Chakras and our extensive range of chakra pendants
Burhouse is excited to introduce a new line of pieces to its collection, each one steeped in chakra tradition. Wear chakra jewellery to represent balance or bring intent to one particular chakra. Here, we take a look at the seven chakras that play a vital role in balancing the body physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.

For the uninitiated, chakras are the concentrated energy centres of the body. ‘Chakra’ is a Sanskrit term, meaning ‘wheel’ or ‘disc, hence why they’re thought of as spinning wheels of energy. The chakras are found along the spine, through the neck and at the crown of the head. But what is their purpose and how can we ensure they remain healthy in order to keep us at our energetic and wholesome best?

Learning the chakras – the basics

There are seven chakras in total and they correspond to various organs around the body and affect our state of being and wellbeing. When a chakra isn’t functioning properly or becomes ‘blocked’, that’s when we’re more likely to succumb to illness or bouts of depression. Long-held tension and low self-esteem are thought to result in the chakras getting blocked. That’s why we should be doing everything we can to nourish and look after our bodies – physically and mentally – so as to not unconsciously affect that healthy energy flow. Yoga is a common way to promote and enable the flow of energy through our chakras, while reiki, a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation, also helps to restore balance and wellbeing. The chakras are:

The root chakra. 
A vital centre and also known as the ‘first chakra’, it provides the foundations. The root chakra is grounding, stabilising and supportive – it helps keep everything connected. This chakra is associated with the base of the spine, the pelvic floor and the first three vertebrae.

The sacral chakra.
Located above the pubic bone and below the naval, this chakra represents our sexual and creative energies.

The solar plexus chakra. 
The third chakra, found between the naval and the rib cage, is responsible for individual power and self-esteem. The solar plexus chakra looks after metabolism and digestion.

The heart chakra. 
Found in the centre of chest, the heart chakra is said to represent where the physical and spiritual meet. When aligned, love and compassion are given the opportunity to flow freely.

The throat chakra. 
This is the ruler of all communication. If all is working well, the throat chakra enables you to speak your inner truth, as well as express yourself clearly and listen carefully to others.

The third-eye chakra. 
Located between the eyebrows, this chakra rules organs including the pituitary glands, eyes, head and brain. The third eye helps you see clearly and make sense of the world around you.

The crown chakra.
Found at the crown of the head, this chakra is the centre of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves. When the crown chakra is aligned, a person is thought to be in a state of consciousness and pure awareness.

Keeping centred and balanced

Jewellery is often worn to help someone physically, mentally and spiritually where the chakras are concerned. Chakra jewellery is believed to calm the senses and quieten the sensory system at times in life where stress or anxiety try to take hold. It helps with positivity and provides a shield against negative vibes. Chakra jewellery is also said to boost confidence and self-assurance – it’s uplifting.

Because of the healing powers of various gemstones and beads, many jewellery designers and retailers have looked to add chakra & other healing gemstones to their jewellery ranges. Think about your customer base and extending the lines you offer to them. For those interested in buying chakra jewellery, they’ll likely focus on the areas in their life they feel aren’t flowing as well as they’d like. This is an indication as to which of the chakras may be blocked or imbalanced – and they’ll likely look to the corresponding jewellery item.

Want to learn more about chakra jewellery pieces? Head over to our range now or get in touch for expert advice on providing the right pieces for your customers’.

Product Compare Call Centre